UK on India’s e-visa list from Aug 15

Jama Masjid in Delhi. Picture by Samarpita Banerjee
Jama Masjid in Delhi. Picture by Samarpita Banerjee

August 11 (TravelAndy): United Kingdom is all set to become one of the 36 countries to be added to India’s e-Tourist visa list from August 15.

The e-visa facility will allow UK nationals to apply and pay for their visas online. They only need to carry a printout of the e-visa while visiting India.

With this addition, the total count of countries under the scheme will climb to 113.

Simultaneously, the Centre will add seven more Indian airports as designated airports for entry on e-Tourist Visa from August 15, 2015, said a government statement.

Apart from New Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Chennai, the additional airports that will offer eTourist visa entry include Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Gaya, Jaipur, Lucknow, Trichy and Varanasi.

The e-Tourist visa facility was launched on November 27, 2014. Since then more than two lakh e-Tourist visas have been issued, the statement added.

E-visa applicants will be expected to apply online at least four days before the date of travel. The visa is valid for 30 days from the date of arrival.


Talk to me